Top 50 Movies of the Decade – part 8

(trailer)

David: Little films come along every so often and win us over. What makes In Bruges so unique within this lineage is its continual gift to surprise, every scene or moment another cheeky conquest. I could choose any to highlight. The quixotic (entirely perfect) shot that acquaints us to Chloe is when I knew the whole picture had complete sway over me.

Taos: “I grew up in Dublin. I love Dublin. If I grew up on a farm, and was retarded, Bruges might impress me but I didn’t, so it doesn’t.” Does that quote not say it all?

(trailer)

David: Captivating. It’s that sense of discovery, that indescribable sense of wonder no other movie has come within an ocean’s breadth of conveying.

Taos: Whoa, Colin Ferrell double-take. Like a fine brandy, this is meant to be taken in slowly and savored.

(trailer)

Taos: This is one of those films that, even though the ending is bad, you forgive it because in your mind is another ending. That’s how it works for me.

David: People are quick to point out the commonness of its story format, labeling it redundant. What film isn’t when compared to others? The fact that this particular one’s story is told so masterfully from fade in to fade to black is what separates it. A kind of throwback to big picture moviemaking, I see many virtues in both its morals but also its simple, unobstructed aims. This will always be one of my favorite movies.

(trailer)

Taos: Christian Bale at his peak in one of the best satires ever. Hip to Be Square will never be the fun single it was.

David: I hated this movie when it first came out. Thought it disgusting. Then I got oldered. Now I’m addicted.

(trailer)

Taos: I won’t lie, I actually cried a little at the end. The best war movie ever, even with some WTF moments.

David: I think the first movie that made me stand back and really take notice of foreign film in my so far brief love affair with cinema. I think this was because it was the first foreign picture I watched that functioned like an American blockbuster, competing on Hollywood’s terms while more than succeeding.

Leave a Reply

