Top 50 Movies of the Decade – part 6

(trailer)

David: Superb roleplayers.  Imaginative concept and execution.  Pretty sensational dialogue.  And several quite divergent ways to interpret it all.  There’s a lot to like about The Science of Sleep.  I prefer it to Eternal Sunshine.  Those often lost to their dreamscapes will immediately identify.

Taos: Not another! I turned it off after 30 minutes. I could spew hate for hours. You should probably read David’s take on it.

(trailer)

Taos: The opening alone is enough to bring me to tears. Pixar consistently delivers.

David: Old protagonists are so in vogue.  And I love it!  My favorite Pixar character. “The first 15 minutes.”  The first 15 minutes I was hiding tears from my 5-y.o. nephew.  Such a beautiful summer day that day, leaving the theater.  Thirty minutes before sunset. Radiant heavens above brimming with gold-seemed, character-carved clouds.  Happiness Now.

(trailer)

Taos: Just the right mix of reality and overly weird David Lynchism. Don’t go in without some exposure to Lynch beforehand. Expect weird, and you’ll be rewarded with greatness.

David: Isn’t this the one where William Holden goes down on that crazy, old broad?  (Haven’t seen it.)

(trailer)

David: My very favorite anything I’ve encountered in the last six months.  A mood piece.  To be experienced only.  You’ll either match its rhythm or you won’t.  Worth finding out. (Should be noted for consistency’s sake:  another Chris Doyle.)

Taos: I heard it was about hanging out in a house all day. And suicide.

(trailer)

David: Life.  In three hours.  You wish it’d last six.  But don’t worry.  You have your own to keep you busy.  And though this was true from the start, this movie somehow makes your life a little sweeter for the trouble.

Taos: Holy crap! Another one of ‘em thar Asian talkies.

Not another! I turned it off after 30 minutes. I could spew hate for hours. You should probably read David’s take on it.
Leave a Reply

