Top 50 Movies of the Decade – part 4

In which our heroes clearly begin to half-ass things and lose what threadbare faith formerly remained for any of their future promises.

(trailer)

Taos: Scorsese’s best. I might just be able to watch this once a week if I had the time. Plays like what it is: a classic.

David: In contention for my favorite Scorsese.  Which I would hope says it all.  (Which might be a misleading statement, but we’ll save that for another day.)

(trailer)

David: Back in part 1, I named Garden State as a reason for my interest in film and filmmaking.  The day after I first saw Garden State five-plus years ago, I watched Hero; that weekend paved the way for who I’m to become.  I enjoyed Hero‘s Rashomon-like story. Obvious to everyone I’m sure, though, its artistry in performance and realization is what ensnared me.  Plenty could be said here, but most significant:  it was lensed by Chris Doyle, then completely unknown to me but who today represents the level of ability and success I hope to achieve (in my own manner of course).  Doyle’s work on Hero, his images–they’re permanently etched in the back of my eyes.

Taos: Cherry blossoms. Clouds of arrows. Flying Asians? Everything David picked is a definite re-watch for me.

(trailer)

Taos: Brutal and real. Scorsese flick of South America. Maybe memorable more for its harsh reality than anything else.

David: I recall this one only in broad strokes for whatever reason (one in which the blame doesn’t belong to the movie, I’m sure).  Genius made I do remember, but I owe it another look.

(trailer)

Taos: The 2nd wittiest dialogue of the list. Gay Perry. Who’s this Downey Jr. guy. What else will go wrong… Loved it.

David: This I remembered liking more than when I saw it a couple days ago.  Still entertaining as hell (I mean RD,J & Val Kilmer?  Forget about it).  The kind of movie to watch with several pals.

(trailer)

Taos: Deserving of recognition for its refreshing way of telling the story. I have a feeling this will only get better as the years go by.

David: A modern classic; its reputation alone establishes it as required viewing for any fledgling film buff.  There’s nothing left to say about it.  I mean, there are two kinds of people:  those that have seen ESotSM and then everyone else.

Scorsese’s best. I might just be able to watch this once a week if I had the time. Plays like what it is: a classic.
One Response to Top 50 Movies of the Decade – part 4

  1. David says:

    Top sentence should read:

    In which our heroes (okay, just David) clearly begin(s) to half-ass things and lose(s) what threadbare faith formerly remained for any of their (okay, just David’s) future promises.

Leave a Reply

