Halloween Horror-Film Watch-List

As Halloween approaches and the winds of fall come upon us, ghosts, goblins, and vampires permeate my film viewing.

I’ve already got a head-start on Halloween by watching the often funny, rarely scary Evil Dead trilogy. But, this month, and Halloween in particular, has much in store. I’ve decided to share my personal list of Horror/Suspense films on the docket this year.

Without further adieu…

nosferatu2[1]

Nosferatu (1922)

You can actually watch the full film via that link because the the film is now in the public domain. This is classic silent horror. Images of this have always startled me; I can’t wait to experience the entire product. If I make it through, this will be the oldest film i’ve ever seen. Looks to be a good starting point in the silent-film genre(?).

DRA014AT460

Dracula (1931)

Bela Lugosi thrust into our minds the image Dracula in this film. Perhaps Christopher Lee did the character better, but I think it’s Lugosi’s near overacting of the character that sticks with us.

trick-r-treat-poster1

Trick ‘r Treat (2008)

About time this got a release. Been waiting for this far too long. I’ll probably be watching before Halloween, but it still merits a mention.

caligari

The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (1920)

I’m gonna put this in the “wild card” stack. Perhaps if the other silent film goes well, i’ll make it to this. We shall see. Again, because of Public Domain, you can watch it via that link.

young-frankenstein

Young Frankenstein (1974)

Who said I can’t choose a comedy? Seriously, If you haven’t seen this, watch it today!

That’s a pretty good start to a list growing list. Lots of other gems to consider, such as: An American Werewolf in London, Phantom of the Opera (1925), Halloween (1978), and maybe The Host.

Lest we forget, October 20 in The Prestige day. Be sure to watch Christopher Nolan’s best. “Are you watching closely?”

One Response to Halloween Horror-Film Watch-List

  1. David says:

    “This is so exciting!”

    Just finished Dracula (’31). I love the atmosphere, particularly in the first half. Makes me yearn for three things:
    1. a decent nearby stage production
    2. Jason Segel’s Dracula rock opera brought to fruition
    3. Wholly unnecessary, but a low budget revision of the classic tale. Tons of fog; strict minimalism; ‘on-location’ shooting. Mostly I just think it’d be fun to grab a camera, crew, and maybe some plane tickets–go on an overseas haunt.

    Amarillo Little Theatre put on Dracula last fall. Went with Guthrie’s small acting class. They played up the camp/humor, and though a little slow, really pretty fun and well-produced.

    CANNOT WAIT for Prestige Day. Laura has held my copy for some time now. I texted her a few days ago; told her to hold off until the 20th to check it out. [I’ll pick up a 2nd copy for myself if need be.]

Leave a Reply

