Perhaps you’re interested in how a man undresses. You know, it’s a funny thing about that. Quite a study in psychology. No two men do it alike. You know, I once knew a man who kept his hat on until he was completely undressed. Yeah, now he made a picture. Years later, his secret came out. He wore a toupee. Yeah. You know, I have a method all my own. If you notice, the coat came first, then the tie, then the shirt. Now, uh, according to Hoyle, after that, the, uh, pants should be next. There’s where I’m different… I go for the shoes next. First the right, then the left. After that it’s, uh, every man for himself. (film draft)

At first I thought I’d go for Casablanca, but realized a better older movie remained unpicked.

colbert014

It Happened One Night (1934)

Amazingly still fresh today. How rare is it that a comedy remains as funny as it was the day it was released. Coulda been released yesterday. One of the only comedies to win an Oscar. Heck, it created a new genre: the Screwball comedy.

If I were to recommend just one so-called “classic” film, this would be it.

(and I win for longest title ever!)

3 Responses to Perhaps you’re interested in how a man undresses. You know, it’s a funny thing about that. Quite a study in psychology. No two men do it alike. You know, I once knew a man who kept his hat on until he was completely undressed. Yeah, now he made a picture. Years later, his secret came out. He wore a toupee. Yeah. You know, I have a method all my own. If you notice, the coat came first, then the tie, then the shirt. Now, uh, according to Hoyle, after that, the, uh, pants should be next. There’s where I’m different… I go for the shoes next. First the right, then the left. After that it’s, uh, every man for himself. (film draft)

  1. David says:

    you broke teh intrawebz!

  2. David says:

    Queued ‘Bringing Up Baby’ last night. Don’t really have much familiarity, if any, with that genre (at least from the period). Last night’s queue came from reading a comparison of it to Chungking Express.

    Full circle, mang. Full circle.

  3. David says:

    Dropped Bringing Up Baby back into the mail last night. Very enjoyable, a side of Cary Grant (and to a degree, Kat Hepburn as well) I hadn’t quite seen before. Kind of a trying watch in that the banter never lets up. Still, fun movie. (And very clearly recognize its relation to Chungking Express.)

    Look to checking out this pick of yours in a week or so.

Leave a Reply

