You’re an interesting species. An interesting mix. You’re capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares. (Film Draft)

12019__contact_l

Contact (1997)

It simply captured my imagination in a way no movie has done. The way it tackles the battle between Religion and Science is genius at times. Some people may find the ending odd; I found it perfect. Amazingly, Matthew Mcocnaughey manages to not completely play the same role he’s had in every film.

I hope one day this film isn’t considered Science Fiction, but just an interesting look at what could happen when we finally make first contact.

“I Want to Believe”

4 Responses to You’re an interesting species. An interesting mix. You’re capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares. (Film Draft)

  1. David says:

    I rushed over to look at the draft board after I saw your Netflix note. I had a sinking feeling I neglected to select it early on. Seriously one of my top favorite films. Like you said, powerful stuff.

    Excellent pick.

  2. Taos says:

    I saw you gave it five stars, but I had no idea it was “favorite film” material. If only more sci-fi could be deep and thought-provoking like this. I’m crossing my fingers for Inception, but I fear the 200 million dollar budget will make it more of a visual affair.

  3. David says:

    The way I understand it, and I hope this is the case, a good deal of that money is going into cast + location shooting while still leaving a nice chunk to do crazy-ass sci-fi shit. Also, if that is in fact Canadian dollars, then that alters the scale of things somewhat, too.

    I’m not the biggest Ellen Page fan simply because of the Juno-image-baggage she brings on board, butohwell.

    Now that Thirst is basically within my grasp, this is without a doubt my most anticipated (or until WB loses it and greenlights Singer/Routh’s Man of Steel in the meantime).

  4. zenon bulbs says:

    To tell the truth this became a fantastic detailed report nonetheless as with most wonderful freelance writers there are some factors that could be worked well after. Nevertheless never the particular significantly less it turned out interesting.

Leave a Reply

