They used to say that a child conceived in love has a greater chance of happiness. They don’t say that anymore. (Film Draft)

I’ve recently been on a big Sci-Fi kick, attempting to view the more critically acclaimed films in the genre. This endeavor has gone quicker than expected. Sci-Fi is so lacking in quality films. Most everything labeled Sci-Fi today is either “Space Opera” (see: the new Star Trek, all Star Wars Films, etc.) or just “Western In Space.” What I love about true Sci-Fi is the deep questions of science, philosophy, and humanity that are asked. A few months back I thrust myself into Battlestar Galactica, and have ever since hungered for the same action-packed Sci-Fi that takes time to deal with very serious sociological and political questions. Never mind the last season being lackluster. The show really pushed the boundaries for me. Not only in what Sci-Fi can be, but what Television should be. I can’t even get into the acclaimed Firefly series after Battlestar Galactica.

Anyhow, all this rambling brings us to a fantastic Sci-Fi film Gattaca.

3062407932_b1fcf65256

The technology in this film is actually a lot closer than it was in 1997 when this was released, so the futuristic setting just feels ultra-modern now. Ignoring that, and Uma Thurman’s sub-par acting, this is a terrific addition to the suffering Sci-Fi genre. Ethan Hawke (not sure if he’s done anything good before or after) + Jude Law (no explanation needed) = Science Fiction goodness that can now be enjoyed by Sci-Fi haters.

3 Responses to They used to say that a child conceived in love has a greater chance of happiness. They don’t say that anymore. (Film Draft)

  1. David says:

    One I keep overlooking when I spot it online. I’ll drop it in the queue.

    Your post has made me realize: I’m not sure what I think of Uma Thurman. Like, I’ve never gathered my thoughts on her, or reached a conclusion. Maybe better that way, though. More room to surprise.

  2. Taos says:

    I really enjoyed her in the Kill Bill’s, but other than that I usually get visions of Batman & Robin anytime I see her, which as it turns out was released the same year as Gattaca.

  3. David says:

    Just watched this on Instant Play. Good pick.

    “I never saved anything for the swim back.” Damn good line.

Leave a Reply

