I’ll see you in another life… when we are both cats. (Film Draft)

Vanilla Sky

A film that initially received an inordinate amount of backlash,  it continues its divisive streak, though I believe people have since softened up to it over the 8 (Eight?! Holy sh*t!) years post.

The chronology of my experience with this material:

-2002: Friends’ parents rent and watch Vanilla Sky while we battle it out on Smash Bros. Melee on the other side of the room.  In between turns, I’d look over my shoulder to take a glimpse at the movie. “Weird as fuck,” I remember thinking. I brutally destroy my opponents with Kirby.

-2005: Tom Cruise cracks. I decide he’s still awesome in my book. I begin seriously exploring film. I unceremoniously retire Kirby and pick up Mario, Falco.

-2006: I successfully engineer a campaign in which area Melee players believe my abilities as Kirby to be legendary.

-2007: Sign up for Netflix and add Abre Los Ojos to my queue, both ideas recommended by my kickass cousin. Movie is vivid, trippy, and always interesting. He Who Wears Shorts all but completely overshadows the Kirby-myth with his god-mode-esque talent.

-A few weeks ago: Lord Frisby gives me a stack of dvds to watch which includes Vanilla Sky. I’m apprehensive. He explains it as Crowe’s loving cover, rather than an empty remake. I watch. I love. Nobody plays Smash Bros. anymore.

Technically, I’m just drafting Vanilla Sky, but in a cheating-sort-of-way, it’s really a companion selection.  Separately, they’re each fine films.  Together, they add up to something remarkable.

Watch first Abre Los Ojos, give it some time, and then follow up with Vanilla Sky.  You’ll get lost in the beauty.

(Abre Los Ojos)

2 Responses to I’ll see you in another life… when we are both cats. (Film Draft)

  1. Taos says:

    Tried watching Vanilla Sky once. Got about 30-40 minutes in and couldn’t muster the strength to continue. Just added Abre Los Ojos.

    Your timeline was both nostalgic and doleful in its affect on me. I really miss the “Melee” days. Alas, how things change… I hope one day we all end up living within the same city/area so we can relive those glorious days.

  2. David says:

    ha, thanks.

    Was over at Nick’s the other night. He picked up the game, and I was like, “Holy shit! Yes!” But instead, Nick and Jake tried pitching me the idea of adapting Melee. I left shortly thereafter.

Leave a Reply

