At the high point of our intimacy, we were just 0.01cm from each other. I knew nothing about her. Six hours later, she fell in love with another man. (Film Draft)

Chungking Express

Not a flawless movie by any stretch.  Nonetheless, this quick one-off project for Wong Kar Wai pretty much defines the term ‘infectious.’

Tarantino said it best when he called it a movie for people who love film. He also had it right by saying it’s impossible to watch Chungking Express and not fall head over heels in love with Faye Wong. Her half of the split narrative, alongside Mr. Epitome-of-Cool Tony Leung, is the primary draw here.

And still, there’s no confusing it serves its weight by virtue of the anchoring segment which possesses plenty charm (and expired pineapple) of its own. Two great stories in one sumptuous parcel.

Altogether downright likable I tell ya.

2 Responses to At the high point of our intimacy, we were just 0.01cm from each other. I knew nothing about her. Six hours later, she fell in love with another man. (Film Draft)

  1. Taos says:

    Glad to see the blog back to semi-full capacity. At least for our standards.

    Went to add this to my queue, but it was already there. I wonder sometimes, after seeing the incredible amount of films there, if I’ll ever watch all the movies I want to in this lifetime. Not to mention Television.

  2. David says:

    As am I. Musical + newspaper was miserable when it came to having leisure time. If Korea works out, I hope to post a few times per week.

    This is one I hope you get to see before your expiration date. I know, though. I’m getting a little more selective with each passing day in choosing what I watch, haha.

Leave a Reply

