Thirst (American Trailer)

Looks decent. I dug Oldboy and Sympathy for Mr. Vengence, but I don’t worship Chan-Wook Park as some god of film. He’s decent; I just think he gets worshipped so much because it’s “hip” to like foreign films and the (sometimes) extreme graphic violence. Anyhoo, I can’t get IGN video to embed, so here’s the link HERE!

Don’t lie about your age, kiddies.

thirst

2 Responses to Thirst (American Trailer)

  1. David says:

    Actually, I pretend to like foreign cinema because of neat literal title translations (e.g. Shit-Fly), and because it literally increases both my girth and stamina! Thanks, Park Chan-wook! 😀

  2. David says:

    Seriously though, I can’t believe you see Park as just decent. Even in something like Lady Vengeance which didn’t particularly engage me on a narrative level, his technical display is unmatched while entertaining some still thought-provoking questions wrapped in sharp metaphor, instilling fright and enacting strong visceral reactions.

    Joint Security Area, he works in a more traditional Western structure and does it as well as anyone. I’m a Cyborg, oddball fluff, but he reveals a whole other aspect. Dude’s versatile. Even in his ‘Vengeance’ series, he finds stark contrasts.

    I can’t remember where I read it, but someone wrote to the effect of, “If Oldboy is Park’s loud masterpiece, Thirst is his quiet one.” I can’t wait for the end of the month. I know criticism from Cannes was mixed, but that’s been the case since Mr. Vengeance. I’ve loved every bit of footage I’ve seen of Thirst. And I mean, this director with this concept…?! Furthermore, Song Kang-ho kicks ass in everything, and Kim Ok-vin, gorgeous as she is, scares me–they both look totally immersed.

    /fanboy

    Anyhow,
    How are the newlyweds? Thanks for the “thank you” card. You guys back home?

Leave a Reply

