Monsters belong in B movies. (Film Draft)

And maybe most people consider this a ‘B’ movie (at best), but I love the hell out of it…

TAOS HATES!

TAOS HATES!

King Kong (2005, Peter Jackson)

Apparently I have a thing for these love letter movies.

I really wasn’t supposed to like this movie. I very much enjoyed The Lord of the Rings; I own the extended boxset. And though the prospect of a new King Kong excited me when I first read about it in Newsweek when Jackson was wrapping up the trilogy, I think the overwhelming LotR craze exhausted me.  The fandom was unbearable.  Outside of Tenacious D, Jack Black typically annoys me to near death. I had last seen Naomi Watts in I Heart Huckabees, and I had a difficult time getting that character out of my mind (nowadays, I have an open proposal for Naomi to wed me).

However,

I caught Kong opening night, and by the time the last frame fluttered away, I was a little kid all over again. The world Jackson painted with his imagination is astonishing.  I understand he was working off the original, but he realized the concept on an entirely different level.

Sure, it has obvious flaws (dino stampede cgi), but they’re completely diminished in my eyes by the overflowing beauty and brilliance; a 3-hour dream that took ahold of me and refused to let go.

3 Responses to Monsters belong in B movies. (Film Draft)

  1. Taos says:

    This one really deserves another viewing from me. I watched it while stopping mid-film to run an errand on a hot day on a small non-widescreen television screen. Looking back, I may have disliked any movie I watched that day. Really, the older I get the harder it is to “hate” a film. Some films are just not my cup-of-tea, and others are. There is an audience for films I hate and vice-versa.

    I admit this film is very well made, and I can’t really hate it for that. I think my problem is I have a sore spot for remakes and adaptations that stray far from their source material (The Day the Earth Stood Still). I watched “War of the Worlds” after just reading the book, and I think at that time in my life I just ‘hated’ it to be ‘cool.’ “Science of Sleep,” “Guide to Recognizing Your Saints,” etc.: I understand why people like you and you’re all good films, but I just don’t like you for no discernible reason.

    Oh, to be young again.

  2. danggoodmovies says:

    Oh, Guide to Recognizing Your Saints just sucked, you don’t have to have a good reason not to like that one. I was mad, I expected LeBeouf as a gangster and I got little-girl nudity. A horrible trade off. In fact, I should have turned that film off right there, but I kept waiting for a rumble.

  3. Taos says:

    Haha. I turned the film off right there.

Leave a Reply

