Dammit, Hollywood! >:(

wut

I admit, I’m curious, but only on a perverse level.  Wonder how this material ends up in the hands of the blockbuster kings…

update –

Borrowed from ‘Freebirth’ of the Rotten Tomatoes forums.

3 Responses to Dammit, Hollywood! >:(

  1. Taos says:

    The fanboy in me just wants to yell and curse at hollywood for yet another potential crappy remake of an asian masterpiece, but I have never seen the Infernal Affairs trilogy of which The Departed was based on, so I don’t think I can fairly judge how this will turn out. Perhaps Infernal Affairs was absolutely amazing, and The Departed was a great Americanization of it.

    As long as they don’t try to do Oldboy with American people, I think it could turn out fairly decent.

    I think the obvious choices for director would be a Tarantino or Wachowski, but I would put David Croneberg in the spot. For a leading man you definitely can’t go with Will Smith; Oldboy is too deep for such a shallow actor. I’m thinking a Guy Pearce might work, if he hadn’t done the whole revenge thing in Memento. Alternatively, I personally want to cast Christian Bale in every movie, but I doubt other people see eye-to-eye with me on that. Josh Brolin? Ryan Gosling? I really don’t know. I think the film needs a non-Blockbuster leading role.

    I too am perversely interested in this project. I think it has potential to be good adaptation of a great film, but few things live up to their potential. How ’bout remaking the entire ‘revenge trilogy’?

    Anyhow, Quantum of Solace next week. Can’t wait.

  2. […] just got retarded. Remember that really awful news about the Oldboy remake from two weeks […]

Leave a Reply

