Your Majesty, execute him! Your Majesty, execute him! (Film Draft)

Hero

I first viewed Garden State on the evening of September 25, 2004, and then Hero on the morning of September 26, 2004.  Scoff if you must, but that weekend sold me on pursuing a career in film; each movie, in its own way, communicated to me what film could be–what it could accomplish.

I’ve since bought the dvd for Garden State.  Watched it 15, 20 times.  Maybe more.  My love for it has waned somewhat, but my appreciation hasn’t.  As for Hero, I’ve not watched it again; haven’t even rented it.  Instead, its breathtaking beauty is forever preserved in my mind.  One day, I’m sure my curiosity will best me and I’ll re-watch it.  Until then, however, I’m perfectly content unspooling the reels in my memory.

______________

And with that, we’ve reached the midpoint of our film draft.

Here’s a recap:

Taos:
-Memento
-The Fountain
-American Psycho
-The Life Aquatic
-The Road Warrior
-Aliens
-The Matrix
-LotR:  Return of the King
-Garden State
-Rocky
-Braveheart
-A Fish Called Wanda
-The Iron Giant
-The Empire Strikes Back
-The Wrath of Kahn
-Lethal Weapon
-Young Frankenstein
-The Shining
-Kill Bill: Vol. 2
-Léon: The Professional
-The Godfather
-There Will Be Blood
-Batman Begins
-Groundhog Day
-Se7en

David:
-Amelie
-The Prestige
-The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly
-The Big Lebowski
-Oldboy
-Back to the Future
-The Matrix Reloaded
-It’s a Wonderful Life
-The Hustler
-Kung Fu Hustle
-Superman Returns
-Princess Mononoke
-Children of Men
-Hamlet
(1996)
-The Brotherhood of War
-Ghostbusters
-Donnie Darko
-The Science of Sleep
-Rear Window
-The Shawshank Redemption
-The Last Samurai
-X2: X-Men United
-La Dolce Vita
-Memories of Murder
-Hero

Clearly I have won.  But I’ll continue to amuse Taos through our next 50 selections.

7 Responses to Your Majesty, execute him! Your Majesty, execute him! (Film Draft)

  1. Taos says:

    A surprise pick to say the least. My memory from this film is feeling it was just more of what we got in Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon; also, my father teasing Andrew who was but a few rows in front of us about his then girlfriend (can’t remember her name for the life of me). Perhaps it deserves a second viewing on my part, but I doubt i’ll get over all the flying asians.

    Nice work on the recap. I wish I would’ve snatched up the Prestige instead of picking The Fountain out of spite. I also envy your Amelie, but I think me getting The Life Aquatic somewhat evens it all out. Your list is definitely more eclectic and varied; an obvious indie and foreign influence. I seem to have more mainstream acclaimed flicks.

    I think we both have a smattering of good films and great films, and no real clear “winner.” Hopefully we can sort out our list after 100 and rank the films to make a “SomethingOffensive’s Top 100 Movie List.” It’ll rival the AFI and any other quasi-establish film institute.

  2. David says:

    No, I have won.

  3. David says:

    j/k

    But yeah, I’m excited for the Top 100 business.

    Oh, and I’m surprised looking back that I’ve picked that many foreign films. Not like it’s a ton, but I was thinking half that at most.

  4. Taos says:

    I just realized, If you don’t count “A fish called wanda,” I haven’t picked any foreign films. The two I would have picked (Amelie and Oldboy) have already been snatched up. Hmmm…

  5. David says:

    What about The Road Warrior? Wasn’t it an Australian production?

  6. Taos says:

    I forgot. If it isn’t in another language, I don’t realize it may be foreign. Would you consider the Bond films foreign? Harry Potter? I think my idea of foreign usually involves a language other than English. Wow, how Eurocentric am I?

  7. David says:

    Haha. Um, I think it all depends on the nationality of the people that fund it. Or something.

Leave a Reply

